St Joseph's School
Te Kura o Hato Hōhepa ki a Tāhuna

Our School

We are a full primary state integrated school (from New Entrants to Year 8) with a special Catholic character. The Gospel values are the basis of how we behave and treat each other. Our school’s vision is to “create confident learners who, like Jesus make a positive difference”. We can only do this if we all work together to provide the best learning opportunities for our children and so we welcome and encourage all our families to be actively engaged in their children’s learning. 

We have a great history in Queenstown - the Dominican sisters arrived to teach at our school on its current site in 1883. The Dominican pillars of prayer, learning, community and service are evident in our school and our learning. 

Our maximum roll is 175 students.  We usually hover around 140 or so students, shared between our 6 or 7 classrooms.  This, along with our Catholic character and our commitment to building community, earns us the reputation as "The small school with a big heart."

Week 6 Term 2 2024 - Friday 6 June
Week 5 Term 2 2024 - Friday 31 May
Week 4 Term 2 2024 - Friday 24 May
Week 3 Term 2 2024 - Friday 17 May
Week 2 Term 2 2024 - Friday 10 May
Week 1 Term 2 2024 - Friday 3 May

Week 11 Term 1 2024 - Friday 12 April
Week 10 Term 1 2024 - Friday 5 April
Week 9 Term 1 2024 - Thursday 28 March
Week 8 Term 1 2024 - Friday 22 March
Week 7 Term 1 2024 - Friday 15 March

Our Strategic Plan 2024-2025 was developed in consultation with our school's community and is a living document that provides the direction for the governance and management of our school.  Each year we set annual targets for students' achievement.  These are based, in part, on our students' results from the previous year.  Please click here to view our 2024 Annual Implementation Plan.

The following diagram is our current Strategic Plan overview (plan on a page).  If you would like a copy of our current strategic plan or annual plan, please email our Principal (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).

We have a great history in Queenstown - the Dominican sisters arrived to teach at our school on its current site in 1883. The Dominican pillars of prayer, learning, community and service are evident in our school and our learning. The Dominican charism or mission is based on truth, learning, discovery, thinking, excellence, prayer, community and service or mission. That means that at St Joseph's School we will:

Always be honest
Always be learning
Always do our best
Listen to God's call
Do our bit

Our School Blessing embodies our school’s vision, our value and our Dominican charism.

Our awesome God and teacher
We praise and thank you for all you have given us.

Bless us as we learn and play,
Watch over our families and our community.
May our school be a place of honesty, respect and learning,
where everyone does their best and does their bit.
May God be always with us.

Our school belongs to a network of learning organisations including all the primary schools and our 1 High School.  The goal of the Kahui Ako is to identify, share and embed effective teaching and learning practices from across all our schools, thus making learning opportunities improved for all children in the Wakatipu.  

The  Kāhui Ako o Wakatipu has  a strong network of passionate leaders and learners. We will maintain the identity of our school, while collaborating and sharing expertise, so any child’s learning pathway is supported and their transition through the education system is optimal.

Every 3 years, all our policies, procedures and practices in relation to our Special Catholic Character are externally evaluated by a team from the Catholic Education Office. Click here to see our latest Catholic Special Character Evaluation for Development report.

 



As with all other schools in New Zealand we are also externally reviewed by the Education Review Office. Click below to see our latest reports.  Please note that ERO is introducing a new partnership model and reporting under the new model looks different to what it has previously.

EXTERNAL Review OF CATHOLIC CHARACTER 2023 - REPORT (cATHOLIC dICOESE OF dUNEDIN) EXTERNAL Review OF CATHOLIC CHARACTER 2019 - REPORT (cATHOLIC dICOESE OF dUNEDIN) SCHOOL PROFILE REPORT 2023 BOARD ASSURANCE REPORT 2023 eDUCATION REVIEW OFFICE REPORT 2017

Click a button below to view a recent Annual Report. 

Being community is central to life at St Joseph's School.  The following information covers some of the key events where we celebrate community in a special way.

At the beginning of the year we have a school picnic. We gather together to share kai and spend time socialising and playing games.

In the middle of the year we have a Mid-Winter Christmas celebration which is a combined school and parish event. This is a shared meal where the children and adults, if they want, dress up in Christmas colours. The parish give out prizes for the costumes. Our choir performs Christmas songs at this event.

Our end of year celebrations include a Graduation and Prize Giving followed by a whānau BBQ here at school.  This celebration focuses on our graduating students but is a chance for our whole school to gather with joyful gratitude as we approach the end of the school year, and gives another opportunity to share kai together as one faith community.

Each year we have our major fundraiser, our Book Fair. All of our children help in a wide variety of ways, including our Year 7 and 8 students preparing and holding 'stalls' on Book Fair day. The Book Fair includes of course a book sale with a huge range of books but includes too lots of food stalls and fun activities for children and adults alike.  It's a wonderful community event and the highlight of our busy PTA calendar.  The Book Fair normally takes place on a Sunday in early May.

The start of each term includes a "Welcome to School Mass" where we welcome new children and families to our school in a special way.  Our new students wear a beautiful kākahu (cloak), a symbol of their special place in our school and a sign of welcome, and are blessed as they beign their school journey at St Joseph's School.

All of these are great opportunities for you and your family to meet new families and to build friendships and support networks, so make sure you come along and join us.

Details about these events are published in our newsletter closer to the events! Check out the photos on our Facebook from previous events.

We are currently seeking a Teacher Aide to join our team at St Joseph's School Queenstown.  We have MOE funding for 20 hours per week for Term 4 2023 to support a high-needs students who will start in Term 4.  Click here to see the full advert for this fixed term part-time position.  To apply, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Please click the button below to see our current teaching vacancies.

LEARN MORE

We are sorry that your time at our school is over. Please take the time to give us your feedback on your time spent with us by downloading the School Exit Survey in Resources and emailing it to the addresses given. Through completing this, we can understand what we are doing well and any areas we can improve on to meet our families' needs. We wish you all the best for the future.

School Exit Survey